The EFO moves towards 2023: RPM plans return and BVM Racing doubles its presence

02.11.2022  EFO

Only a few days after the end of the 2022 season, the Euroformula Open is already gearing up toward a stronger 2023 season.

The first developments to be noted relate to entries, current and new.

BVM Racing, the Italian squad that has been a regular contender in the series that he rejoined at the end of 2021, will expand its line-up from one to two cars, following a very positive 2022 season with Francesco Simonazzi, which yielded one race win, several podium finishes and P2 in the Rookies’ Trophy.

RPM is another new team on the starting blocks, although for the Italian squad, still the most successful outfit in the EFO with 5 Driver and 6 Team titles, it would actually be a return. RPM has recently acquired two Dallara 320 (the chassis initially acquired by Fortec and which have never raced) and has the intention to enter them with Spiess engines. It will start soon its winter test programme with prospect drivers.

Several other teams are in advanced talks to join the 2023 Euroformula Open, which aims at an entry base of around 20 cars.

More key developments for 2023 will be announced soon, with the objective of reducing running costs and making even more attractive a series that has consolidated its position in the single-seater formulae pyramid and proven to be a terrific training platform for dozens of drivers active today at higher ladders in motor racing, both in Europe and in America. In 2022 alone, three major series had former Euroformula Open drivers s Champions: Felipe Drugovich (the 2018 EFO champion) won the F.2 title, while Linus Lundqvist and Louis Foster respectively took the IndyLights and Indy Pro 2000 titles in the US. In addition, Zake Maloney was the FIA F.3 vice champion.  2022 also saw Alex Palou, Liam Lawson and Mick Doohan involved in Formula 1 testing, with the first two having already taken part in Grand Prix FP1 sessions. 

The 2023 Euroformula Open calendar includes 8 rounds in F.1-graded tracks:

30.04: Portimão
28.05: Spa-Francorchamps
18.06: Hungaroring
23.07: Circuit Paul Ricard
10.09: Red Bull Ring
24.09: Monza 
01.10: Mugello
22.10: Barcelona-Catalunya

Pictured: BVM Racing and last EFO title (Drugovich, 2018) of RPM